Why can’t I edit a marqee selection in * photo editor?

Here’s a question I’ve pondered for a while. I thought it was just me, but a friend was over this evening and on the off chance he asked the same question…

In Photoshop or GIMP (or whatever photo editing tool you use) why can’t you edit your marquee selection after you have unclicked it? By marquee selection I mean the round selection tool or the square selection tool.

Sure, you can drag it into shape, but once your finger comes off that mouse button all you can do is nudge it with the arrow keys. A little up, over to the left a smidge maybe. But what if it isn’t quite the right size? What if I got this corner correct but I want it a little wider on that side, or a little taller or narrower?

So, can anyone tell me why this is? I think this would be a good suggestion for future version of GIMP. It would be remarkably useful for the crop command too.

And that’s what really bugs me. You can do it with the Photoshop Crop tool, but not with the selection tool. Why would you want something as obvious as this left out?

grrrr….

Leave a Reply

